The Blockbusters

I actually made good on a promise to myself this summer!

I swore going into June that I would go and see Spy and Jurassic WorldBecause if I didn’t – I would put it off till I was 90 and regret not seeing either film for years.

So I DID!

Spy was really great, far less slapstick then I had expected, but lots of fun.

Jurassic World was everything I wanted it to be. I got my fill of dinos eating people and plenty of nostalgia.

What surprised me about both of these movies was their ability to take a predictable scenario and revitalize it. No, they didn’t make it unpredictable – but they made the predictable fun to watch and reminded (me at least) of why certain tropes are over used. I wasn’t expecting anything more from Jurassic than a lot of dinos, a lot of CGI, some wisecracks amidst the blood and that’s ok – they delivered just what I wanted without the whole movie feeling pathetic and tired.

Also Melissa McCarthy – I adore her, she’s gorgeous and a force to be reckoned with.

Go see these films – laugh, cry, yell at the screen. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

